LA JOLLA, Calif. and SEATTLE, Wash. – The National University System announced today that Seattle, Washington-based City University of Seattle (CityU) will become the newest affiliate of the National University System.
“The addition of City University of Seattle will serve to broaden the scope of educational opportunities available to all of the students of the National University System, including students at CityU,” said Dr. Jerry C. Lee, Chancellor of the National University System. “The National University System and City University of Seattle share a common mission – providing access to a quality, student-centered nonprofit education that is convenient, affordable, and relevant. City University of Seattle will be an important and welcome addition to the National University System.”

CityU’s affiliation with the National University System will significantly strengthen the University by providing it with the resources necessary to meet the ever-evolving demands of the 21st century student. Being affiliated with the National University System includes CityU in the same system as National University, which has an endowment that ranks among the 200 largest college and university endowments in the United States. As an affiliate of the System, CityU will retain its name, identity and standing as an independent, regionally-accredited, nonprofit university and maintain its commitment to serving anyone with the desire to learn.

The academic programs at City University of Seattle fall under six areas: the School of Management; the Albright School of Education; the Division of Arts and Sciences; the Division of Doctoral Studies; the International College; and the Washington Academy of Languages. CityU is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU), a regional accrediting body approved by the U.S. Department of Education. CityU has maintained continuous accreditation with the Commission since 1978, earning reaffirmation of accreditation in its last review in 2008.

The National University System was established in 2001 to meet the emerging demands for education in the 21st Century. The System offers multiple entry points in an integrated multi-tiered alliance of institutions. In addition to City University of Seattle, the affiliates of the National University System include: National University, the second-largest private, nonprofit institution in California and the 12th-largest in the United States; John F. Kennedy University; National University International; the Division of Pre-College Programs, consisting of National University Virtual High School and National University Academy; Spectrum Pacific Learning; and WestMed College.

CityU offers programs online, in classrooms, or both. In addition to its headquarters in Seattle, the University has locations throughout Washington State and around the globe in Australia, Canada, Mexico, Slovakia, Greece, Romania, the Czech Republic, China, Vietnam, and India.

CityU’s affiliation with the System has been approved by the National University System Board of Trustees, CityU’s Board of Governors, and the NWCCU. The affiliation agreement is expected to be finalized by May 1, 2013.

“Since 1973 CityU has been committed to providing a relevant, flexible and accessible education for students managing their education alongside work and life’s many competing responsibilities,” said Lee Gorsuch, President of City University of Seattle. “The National University System shares this vision. By working within the System’s framework and leveraging its resources, City University of Seattle’s ability to educate and inspire change in our students and the community we serve is strengthened.”

National University System was established to meet the emerging challenges and demands of education in the 21st century. The System is uniquely aligned to connect a diverse population of students to a network of innovative educational programs that are relevant to their lives, careers, and the marketplace and are delivered in a format that respects competing life priorities. Dr. Jerry C. Lee has served as the System’s Chancellor since it was founded in 2001. The current affiliates of the System are: National University; John F. Kennedy University; City University of Seattle; National University International; the Division of Pre-College Programs, which includes National University Virtual High School and National University Academy; Spectrum Pacific Learning; and WestMed College. Entities related to the System include: the National University System Institute for Policy Research; the Center for Integrative Health; National University Golf Academy; and the Center for Performance Psychology. For more information, visit

Published April 3, 2013



* Indicates a required field.

By clicking SUBMIT, I understand and agree to CityU's privacy policy.