Faculty and Staff

Expertise and Experience

At CityU of Seattle, we’re teaching today what can be applied tomorrow. And we believe in the faculty-practitioner model, which merges academic knowledge with real-world savvy. Our team isn’t just made up of experts; they’re seasoned practitioners too, bringing invaluable experience to the table. This is where theory meets practice.

Meet our faculty and staff leadership below!


  • Randy C. Frisch, Ph.D., J.D. President
  • Nandi Moonflower Executive Assistant
  • Chris Bryan, C.P.A. Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer
  • Evelyn Wang, M.S. Senior Director of Finance
  • Melissa Mecham, Ed.D. Vice President of Student Administration/Registrar
  • Jason Elliott Vice President of Marketing and Enrollment
  • Janet O’Leary, M.A. Director of Human Resources
  • Kevin Brown, B.A. Director of Institutional Effectiveness
  • Ben Phair Director of Technology Services

Academic Affairs

  • Melissa Mecham, Ed.D. Provost
  • Esther Hoffman, M.S., M.Ed. Assistant Director of Curriculum and Instruction
  • Harvey Duncan, M.S. Director of Student Services
  • Matthew Lechner, M.L.I.S. Director of Library Services
  • Sam Chung, Ph.D. Dean, School of Technology and Computing
  • Vicki Butler, Ed.D. Dean, School of Education and Leadership

Division of International Operations

  • Antonio Esqueda Flores, M.Ed. Assistant Provost of International Education
  • Sabine Saway, MBA Director of International Student Office
  • Yanan Xu, M.B.A. Director of China Program


Board of Trustees

  • Chair: Kim Folsom Serial High Tech, Venture Backed Entrepreneur
  • Vice-Chair: E. Lee Rice CEO and Medical Director, Lifewellness Institute
  • Secretary: Thomas Topuzes President and CEO, Thomas Topuzes & Associates, LLC
  • Treasurer: Richard Chisholm Executive, Retired
  • Member: Stacy Allison Professional Speaker, Author
  • Member: Thomas Clevinger Managing Partner, Cornerstone Growth Advisors
  • Member: Jeanne Connelly President, Connelly Consulting
  • Member: Harold Greenberg Executive, Retired
  • Member: Dr. Ruthann Heinrich President, Nuance Wines
  • Member: Erlinda Martinez Higher Education President, Retired
  • Member: Michael McGill President, MMS Design Associates
  • Member: Joanne Pastula Executive, Retired
  • Member: Dan Pittard Chairman and CEO, Pittard Partners LLC
  • Member: Hiep Quach Executive, Retired
  • Member: Carlos Rodriguez Rodriguez & Company
  • Member: Lee Wills-Irvine Director of Global Diversity and Inclusion, ASML Holding

Faculty and Staff Links

CityU Faculty Portal

Your CityU login credentials will be required to gain access: my.cityu.edu

CityU Staff Portal

Your CityU login credentials will be required to gain access: home.cityu.edu

Web Mail:

Your CityU login credentials will be required to gain access: mail.cityu.edu