About the SZPT - CityU 3+1 Program

The 3+1 program offered by Shenzhen Polytechnic (SZPT) and CityU is a specially designed program for Chinese students to have an option to study abroad in the U.S. and receive a dual US and Chinese degree.

SZPT and CityU launched the 3 + 1 program in September 2012 with an inaugural cohort of 27 students. The program was approved by the Guangdong Education Bureau for Chinese quota students and is CityU’s undergraduate program where part of the US program delivery is offered in China. As of today, we have 146 students in this program at SZPT. Students in the SZPT – CityU program will have:

  • Three years of study at SZPT where students enrolled in the program will receive their associate degree from SZPT and a CityU Certificate of Completion.
  • For their final year of study, students will have the option to transfer from China to CityU's main campus in Washington State to complete their studies and receive their U.S. bachelor degree.

About Shenzhen Polytechnic (SZPT)

Established in 1993, Shenzhen Polytechnic (SZPT), co-administrated by Guangdong Provincial Government and Shenzhen Municipal Government, is a full-time institution of higher learning in applied technique and management. Today, the Polytechnic has four campuses that together occupy a total area of 168 hectares - 57 hectares of which are buildings. In January 2003, the Polytechnic was designated a key national vocational and technical college.

Shenzhen Polytechnic currently employs 1,775 staff, including 1,047 teachers. The school has more than 20,000 full-time students and about 5,000 part-time students. Within Shenzhen Polytechnic, there are 13 schools which cater to 92 specialties. These schools include: the School of Electronics and Information Engineering, the School of Mechanical and Electronic Engineering, the School of Media and Communication and the School of Economics and Management.

The Polytechnic also promotes exchange and cooperation at the international level. It has established long-term and stable, cooperative relationships with nearly 80 universities and educational organizations outside of mainland China. These include universities and academic institutes in Britain, Germany, France, Australia, the United States, Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong and Taiwan. On campus, the school teaches seven foreign languages. They are: English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Russian and Spanish.

Contact information